Need more proof that it’s a good time to try out a voice controlled, hands-free system for your car? Look no further than recent reports out of Delaware, U.S.A., where police reportedly nabbed over 300 cellphone-using drivers in a single day.
According to reports, state highway officials in the Wilmington, Delaware area recently fined 330 people for violating the state’s hands-free cellphone law. All of the fines – which total $50 for first-time offenders but are closer to $200 for those who repeat the offense – were laid down on April 21. The crackdown in Delaware was actually just one part of a much wider National Distracted Driving Awareness Month, which uses high-profile operations like this to convince people that chatting on a cellphone while behind the wheel just isn’t worth it.
The authorities say the hands-free cell phone law, which went into effect in early January, has since that time led to fines for 2,500 drivers. Sadly, at least thirty crashes this year have been linked with cell phone use.
It’s not just Delaware authorities that are out to get cellphone users. Drivers in California are also subject to a “zero tolerance” approach by police, and even heftier fines: $179 for first-time offenders, $279 for those who repeat.
Drivers who use hands-free wireless systems for their cellphones and smartphones are not targeted by police. Maybe, then, it’s worth investing a little bit of cash to save oneself from a fine – or worse, painful injury – while on the road.
Back to IMS Newsroom